

City of Delray Beach

Cover Memorandum/Staff Report

File #: 24-872 Agenda Date: 7/16/2024 Item #: 7.D.

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk THROUGH: Terrence R. Moore, ICMA-CM

DATE: July 16, 2024

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE PUBLIC ART ADVISORY BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve nomination for an appointment for four (4) regular members to serve on the Public Art Advisory Board for a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2026.

Background:

The term for regular members Mr. Samuel Spear, Ms. Agnese Feldmanis, Mr. Joseph Aronstein and Ms. Andrea Sherman will expire on July 31, 2024.

Mr. Samuel Spear will have will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, but would not like to be nominated for reappointment.

Ms. Agnese Feldmanis will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, but would not like to be nominated for reappointment.

Mr. Joseph Aronstein will have served two (2) full terms and is not eligible for reappointment. Ms. Andrea Sherman will have will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment.

Nominations for appointment are needed for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2026.

The Land Development Regulations Article 8.5 enacted the Public Art Advisory Board for the purpose of advising and making recommendations to the City Commission with respect to public art policy and related issues including, but not limited to, the selection, construction, and placement of public art in/on City right-of-way and City owned property.

The Public Art Advisory Board shall consist of seven (7) members. Three (3) seats on the Board must be filled with either an artist, architect, landscape architect or engineer. Laypersons of knowledge, experience and judgment who have an interest in public art shall make up the balance of the Board.

The following individuals have submitted an application and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

File #: 24-872 Agenda Date: 7/16/2024 Item #: 7.D.

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nomination for appointment for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2026 will be made by Vice-Mayor Casale (Seat #3), Commissioner Burns (Seat #4), Mayor Carney (Seat #5) and Commissioner Markert (Seat #1).