



## City of Delray Beach

## Cover Memorandum/Staff Report

File #: 22-497 Agenda Date: 5/17/2022 Item #: 7.A.

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk THROUGH: Terrence R. Moore, ICMA-CM

DATE: May 17, 2022

RECOMMENDATION FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE DELRAY BEACH HOUSING AUTHORITY BOARD

## **Recommended Action:**

Motion to recommend for appointment three (3) regular members to serve on the Delray Beach Housing Authority Board for a four (4) year term ending July 14, 2026.

## Background:

The terms for Ms. Krystina Buckley, Mr. Ivan Gomez, and Mr. Marcus Metcalf will expire on July 14, 2022. Mr. Ivan Gomez will have served one (1) unexpired term and one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be recommended for reappointment. Ms. Krystina Buckley will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be recommended for reappointment. Mr. Marcus Metcalf has served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be recommended for reappointment. Nomination for an appointment is needed for three (3) regular members to serve a four (4) year term ending July 14, 2026.

Under Florida Statute, Chapter 421, an appointee may not be an officer or employee of the City. The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be recommended for an appointment.

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was completed. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

According to the Florida Statutes, members are appointed by the Mayor and ratified by the Commission. However, at the City Commission meeting of June 5, 1991, a consensus was reached whereby each Commissioner would, on an informal basis and according to the rotation procedure, make a recommendation to the Mayor as to the Housing Authority appointees.

Based on the rotation system, the recommendation for three (3) regular members to serve on the Delray Beach Housing Authority Board for a four (4) year term ending July 14, 2026, will be made by Commissioner Johnson (Seat #4), Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5), Vice-Mayor Frankel (Seat #1).