



City of Delray Beach

Cover Memorandum/Staff Report

File #: 22-624 Agenda Date: 6/14/2022 Item #: 7.E.

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk THROUGH: Terrence R. Moore, ICMA-CM

DATE: June 14, 2022

NOMINATION FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE EDUCATION BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve the appointment for six (6) regular members to serve on the Education Board for a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024.

Background:

Due to the resignation of Ms. Sherry Spitzer, there is a vacant seat. The terms for regular members Ms. Donna Van Horn, Ms. Angelica Nevin, Ms. Debbie Tanner, Ms. Kristen Cairns, and Ms. Kae Jonsons will expire on July 31, 2022. Ms. Donna Van Horn will have served one (1) unexpired term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Angelica Nevin will have served one (1) unexpired term, is eligible, and would like to be reappointed. Ms. Debbie Tanner will have served one full appointment, is eligible, but would not like to be reappointed. Ms. Kristin Cairns has served one (1) full term, is eligible, but would not want to be reappointed. Ms. Kae Jonsons will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Nomination for an appointment is needed for six (6) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024.

Members of the Education Board must be a resident of the City, own property, own or operate a business within the City or have a child attending Delray Beach public schools. Whenever possible, it is the intent that the membership includes persons with a background in business, real estate, and/or education.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be considered for an appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nomination for an appointment for six (6) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024, will be made by Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5), Vice-Mayor Frankel (Seat #1), Vice-Mayor Casale (Seat #2), Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3), Commissioner Johnson (Seat #4) and Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5).

File #: 22-624 **Agenda Date:** 6/14/2022 **Item #:** 7.E.