

Legislation Text

File #: 18-379, Version: 1

## TO:Mayor and CommissionersFROM:Katerri Johnson, City Clerk DepartmentTHROUGH:Mark R. Lauzier, City ManagerDATE:July 10, 2018

## RECOMMENDATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE DELRAY BEACH HOUSING AUTHORITY BOARD

## Recommended Action:

Motion to recommend for appointment three (3) regular members to serve on the Delray Beach Housing Authority Board for four (4) year terms ending July 14, 2022.

## Background:

The term for Mr. Ivan Gomez, Ms. Marcia Beam and Ms. Sylvia Morris, regular members on the Delray Beach Housing Authority, will expire on July 14, 2018. Mr. Ivan Gomez will have served an unexpired term, is eligible, and would like to be recommended for reappointment. Ms. Marcia Beam will have served one (1) full term and would not like to be recommended for reappointment. Ms. Sylvia Morris will have served two (2) full terms and is not eligible for recommendation for appointment. Recommendations for appointment are needed for three (3) regular members to serve four (4) year terms ending July 14, 2022.

Per Florida Statute, Chapter 421, an appointee may not be an officer or employee of the City. The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be recommended for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed and all are registered. According to Florida Statutes, members are appointed by the Mayor and ratified by the Commission. However, at the City Commission meeting of June 5, 1991, a consensus was reached whereby each Commissioner would, on an informal basis and according to the rotation procedure, make a recommendation to the Mayor as to the Housing Authority appointees.

Based on this system, the recommendation for appointment will be made by Vice Mayor Frankel (Seat #1), Commissioner Bathurst (Seat #2) and Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3) for one (3) regular members to serve on the Delray Beach Housing Authority for four year terms ending July 14, 2022.