

Legislation Text

File #: 18-398, Version: 1

## TO:Mayor and CommissionersFROM:Katerri Johnson, City Clerk DepartmentTHROUGH:Mark R. Lauzier, City ManagerDATE:July 17, 2018

## NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE PLANNING AND ZONING BOARD

## Recommended Action:

Motion to approve nominations for appointment for four (4) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2020.

## Background:

The term for regular members, Mr. Mark Krall, Mr. Joseph Pike, Ms. Leslie Marcus and Mr. Kevin Osborne will expire on August 31, 2018. Mr. Mark Krall and Mr. Joseph Pike will have served two (2) full term and are not eligible for reappointment. Ms. Leslie Marcus will have served one (1) full term and would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Mr. Kevin Osborne will have served one (1) full term, are eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Nominations for appointment are needed for four (4) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2020.

In order to qualify for appointment, a person shall be either a resident of, own property, own a business, or be an officer, director, or manager of a business located within the City of Delray Beach. In addition, the City Commission shall fill four seats on the Board with either an architect, landscape architect, realtor/real estate broker, engineer, developer, general contractor, land planner or land use attorney. The remaining three seats shall be at large. The Commission shall endeavor to appoint as many disciplines as possible to the board.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered with the exception of Mr. Jack Levine and Mr. Chris Lowry.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment will be made by Commissioner Bathurst (Seat #2), Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3), Deputy Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4) and Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5) for four (4) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2020.