





## **Legislation Text**

File #: 18-500, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners

FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk Department

THROUGH: Mark R. Lauzier, City Manager

**DATE:** August 21, 2018

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE CODE ENFORCEMENT BOARD

## **Recommended Action:**

Motion to approve nominations for appointment for two (2) alternate members to serve on the Code Enforcement Board for unexpired terms ending January 14, 2022.

## Background:

There are two (2) vacancies on the Code Enforcement Board due to the resignation of Ms. Sarah Lucas and Mr. Nicholas Coppola being appointed for regular membership at the City Commission meeting on July 10, 2018. The terms are unexpired ending January 14, 2019. Per Ordinance No. 15-12, the appointed member shall be allowed to serve the following full regular term without reappointment because the unexpired term is for a period of time less than six months. Nominations for appointment are needed for two (2) alternate members to serve unexpired terms ending January 14, 2022.

All members of the Code Enforcement Board must be residents of the City or own property in the City, and/or own a business within the City. Appointments to both regular and alternate member positions shall be on the basis of experience or interest in the fields of zoning and building control. The regular and alternate membership of the Board shall, **whenever possible**, include an architect, a businessperson, an engineer, a general contractor, a subcontractor, and a realtor.

Regarding the current makeup of this board, the board is in need of an architect, an engineer, a general contractor and a subcontractor.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nomination for appointment will be made by Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3) and Deputy Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4) for two (2) alternate members to serve unexpired terms ending January 14, 2022.