



City of Delray Beach

Cover Memorandum/Staff Report

File #: 19-237 Agenda Date: 3/12/2019 Item #: 7.J.

TO: Mayor and Commissioners

FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk Department THROUGH: Chief Neal de Jesus, Interim City Manager

DATE: March 12, 2019

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE PARKING MANAGEMENT ADVISORY BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve nominations for appointment for two (2) regular member (Citizen-at-Large) to serve on the Parking Management Advisory Board for a one (1) year terms ending July 31, 2020 and two (2) regular member (Citizen-at-Large) to serve for a two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2021.

Background:

There are four (4) vacancies for a regular member (Citizen-at-Large) to serve on the Parking Management Advisory Board. Nominations for appointment are needed for two (2) regular member (Citizen-at-Large) to serve one (1) year terms ending July 31, 2020 and two (2) regular member (Citizen-at-Large) to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2021.

The Parking Management Advisory Board was established by Resolution No. 88-97 on December 9, 1997. The purpose of the Board is to advise and provide recommendations to the City Commission regarding parking management policy and related issues including but not limited to, the planning, financing, development, construction and operation of parking facilities within the boundaries of the Transportation Concurrency Exception Area (TCEA), as well as, all public parking areas located along State Road A-1-A within the corporate limits of the City.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be considered for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nomination for appointment will be made by Vice Mayor Frankel (Seat #1) and Commissioner Bathurst (Seat #2) for two (2) regular members to serve one (1) terms ending July 31, 2020. Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3) and Deputy Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4) will nominate two (2) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2021.