

Cover Memorandum/Staff Report

File #: 19-592	Agenda Date: 6/18/2019	Item #: 7.C.

TO:Mayor and CommissionersFROM:Katerri Johnson, City Clerk's OfficeTHROUGH:Neal de Jesus, Interim City ManagerDATE:June 18, 2019

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE POLICE ADVISORY BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve nominations for appointment for five (5) regular members to serve on the Police Advisory Board for two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2021.

Background:

The term for regular members Mr. Ronald Gilinsky, Ms. Nancy Chanin, Mr. Alexander Christopher, Ms. Kelli Freeman and Mr. Peter Sclafani will expire on July 31, 2019. Mr. Ronald Gilinsky will have served an unexpired term, is eligible and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Nancy Chanin, Ms. Kelli Freeman and Mr. Peter Sclafani will have serve one (1) full term, are eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Mr. Alexander Christopher will have served two (2) full terms and is not eligible for reappointment. Nominations for appointment are needed for five (5) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2021. Please note that there are no student applicants at this time.

In order to qualify for appointment, a person shall be either a resident of, own property, own a business, or be an officer, director, or manager of a business located within the City of Delray Beach. Membership shall include a diverse cross section of the community; business owners, religious and faith-based organizations, youth, school officials and local organizations, where feasible.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered with the exception of Mr. Erik Feldmanis. Students are not registered.

Based on the rotation system, nominations for appointment will be made by Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3), Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4), Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5), Commissioner Frankel (Seat #1) and Deputy Vice Mayor Bathurst (Seat #2) for five (5) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2021.