



City of Delray Beach

Cover Memorandum/Staff Report

File #: 19-611 Agenda Date: 7/2/2019 Item #: 7.C.

TO: Mayor and Commissioners

FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk Department THROUGH: Neal de Jesus, Interim City Manager

DATE: July 2, 2019

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE PLANNING AND ZONING BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve nominations for appointment for three (3) regular members to serve on the Planning and Zoning Board for two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2021.

Background:

The term for regular members, Mr. Robin Bird, Mr. Jay Jacobson and Ms. Christina Morrison will expire on August 31, 2019. Mr. Robin Bird will have served two (2) full term and is not eligible for reappointment. Mr. Jay Jacobson and Ms. Christina Morrison will have served one (1) full term, are eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Nominations for appointment are needed for three (3) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2021.

In order to qualify for appointment, a person shall be either a resident of, own property, own a business, or be an officer, director, or manager of a business located within the City of Delray Beach. In addition, the City Commission shall fill four seats on the Board with either an architect, landscape architect, realtor/real estate broker, engineer, developer, general contractor, land planner or land use attorney. The remaining three seats shall be at large. The Commission shall endeavor to appoint as many disciplines as possible to the board.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment will be made by Deputy Vice Mayor Bathurst (Seat #2), Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3) and Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4) for three (3) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2021.