

100 N.W. 1st Avenue

Delray Beach, FL 33444

City of Delray Beach



Legislation Text

File #: 17-005, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Chevelle D. Nubin, City Clerk

THROUGH: Chief Neal deJesus, Interim City Manager

DATE: January 10, 2017

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE CODE ENFORCEMENT BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to Approve nominations for appointment for one (1) regular member to serve on the Code Enforcement Board for a three (3) year term ending January 14, 2020 and for one (1) regular member to serve an unexpired term ending January 14, 2018.

Background:

The term for regular member, Mr. Ross Freeman will expire on January 14, 2017. Mr. Ross Freeman, will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. In addition, there is a vacancy due to the resignation of Mr. Jason Dollard. The term is unexpired ending January 14, 2018. Please be advised that Ms. Lea Ann DeRigne is an alternate member and would like to be considered for regular membership. Nominations for appointment are needed for one (1) regular member to serve a three (3) year term ending January 14, 2020 and one (1) regular member to serve an unexpired term ending January 14, 2018.

All members of the Code Enforcement Board must be residents of the City. Appointments to both regular and alternate member positions shall be on the basis of experience or interest in the fields of zoning and building control. The regular and alternate membership of the Board shall, **whenever possible**, include an architect, a businessperson, an engineer, a general contractor, a subcontractor, and a realtor.

Regarding the current makeup of this board, the board is in need of an architect, an engineer, a general contractor, a subcontractor and a realtor.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment will be made by Deputy Vice Mayor Katz (Seat #3) for one (1) regular member to serve a three (3) year term ending January 14, 2020. Vice Mayor Jarjura (Seat #4) will make the nomination for appointment of one (1) regular member to serve an unexpired term ending January 14, 2018.

File #: 17-005, Version: 1