

# City of Delray Beach

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 17-272, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners

FROM: Kimberly Wynn, Acting City Clerk

THROUGH: Chief Neal de Jesus, Interim City Manager

**DATE:** March 16, 2017

MUNICIPAL ELECTION RESULTS: DECLARE THE RESULTS OF THE MARCH 14, 2017 FIRST NONPARTISAN ELECTION

#### **Recommended Action:**

Motion to Accept the cumulative totals for each candidate for Commission Member/ Seat #2 and Seat #4; including all regular, absentee, and provisional votes as ascertained by the Palm Beach County Supervisor of Elections, and that it is hereby declared, based upon the above and foregoing results, that James R. Chard is elected as Commission Member/Seat #2 and Shirley Johnson is elected as Commission Member/Seat #4 for three year terms commencing on the 30th day of March, 2017, and ending in accordance with the Charter.

### **Background:**

#### FIRST NONPARTISAN ELECTION

COMMISSION MEMBER - SEAT #2 - THREE (3) YEAR TERM

RICHARD ALTEUS 506

KELLY BARRETTE 1,788

ANNEZE BARTHELEMY 488

JAMES R. CHARD 3,533

COMMISSION MEMBER - SEAT #4 - THREE (3) YEAR TERM

SHIRLEY JOHNSON 3,849

JOSH SMITH 2.189