

Legislation Text

File #: 17-475, Version: 1

TO:Mayor and CommissionersFROM:Katerri Johnson, City ClerkTHROUGH:Chief Neal de Jesus, Interim City ManagerDATE:June 6, 2017

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE DOWNTOWN DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to Approve nominations for appointment for four (4) regular members to serve on the Downtown Development Authority Board for three (3) year terms ending July 1, 2020.

Background:

The term for regular members, Mr. Ryan Boylston, Mr. Mark Denkler, Mr. Frank Frione, and Mr. Albert Richwagen, will expire on July 1, 2017. Mr. Ryan Boylston and Mr. Albert Richwagen will have served two (2) full terms and are not eligible for reappointment. Mr. Mark Denkler and Mr. Frank Frione will have served one (1) full term, are eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Nominations for appointment are needed for four (4) regular members to serve three (3) year terms ending July 1, 2020.

To qualify for appointment, a prospective member must reside in or have his or her principal place of business in the City, and shall not be serving as a City officer or employee. There is a requirement that at least **four** of the members must be owners of real estate within the downtown area, a lessee thereof required by the lease to pay taxes thereon, or a director, officer or managing agent of an owner or of a lessee thereof so required to pay taxes thereon. A map of the Downtown Development Authority Boundary is included for your review.

Currently serving on the Downtown Development Authority and meeting ownership and tax payment qualifications are Mr. Alan Costilo and Mr. Mark Denkler.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed and all are registered with the exception of Ms. Annette Gray.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment will be made by Mayor Glickstein (Seat #5), Commissioner Petrolia (Seat #1), Vice Mayor Chard (Seat #2) and Commissioner Katz (Seat #3) for four (4) regular members to serve on the Downtown Development Authority for three (3) year terms ending July 1, 2020.