

# City of Delray Beach



## **Legislation Text**

File #: 17-546, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk

THROUGH: Chief Neal de Jesus, Interim City Manager

**DATE:** June 20, 2017

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE COMMUNITY REDEVELOPMENT AGENCY BOARD

#### **Recommended Action:**

Motion to Approve nominations for appointment for two (2) regular members to serve on the Community Redevelopment Agency Board for four (4) year terms ending July 1, 2021.

#### Background:

The term for regular members, Mr. Joseph Bernadel, Mr. Herman Stevens, and Mr. Paul Zacks, will expire on July 1, 2017. Mr. Herman Stevens will have served two (2) full terms and is not eligible for reappointment. Mr. Joseph Bernadel and Mr. Paul Zacks will have served one (1) full term and would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Nominations for appointment are needed for two (2) regular members to serve four (4) year terms ending July 1, 2021.

Per Florida Statute, any person may be appointed to the Community Redevelopment Agency if he or she resides in or is engaged in business (which means owning a business, practicing a profession or performing a service for compensation, or serving as an officer or director of a corporation or other business entity) within the area of the agency which is coterminous with the municipality and is otherwise eligible for such appointment. A person cannot hold any other public office other than his/her commissionership or office with respect to the Community Redevelopment Agency.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

### (See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verifications were completed and all are registered with the exception of Ms. Annette Gray.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment will be made by Commissioner Katz (Seat #3), and Commissioner Petrolia (Seat #1) for two (2) regular members to serve four (4) year terms ending July 1, 2021.