

Legislation Text

File #: 17-531, Version: 1

# TO:Mayor and CommissionersFROM:Katerri Johnson, City Clerk DepartmentTHROUGH:Chief Neal de Jesus, Interim City ManagerDATE:June 20, 2017

## NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE EDUCATION BOARD

### Recommended Action:

Motion to Approve nominations for appointment for six (6) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2019. Please note that there are no student applicants at this time.

#### Background:

The term for regular members Ms. Cathy DeMatto, Ms. Joyce Warner, Mr. Daryl Pauling, Ms. Barbara Starks, Mr. Bryan Weber and student members Miss. Nikkie Dugan and Miss. Neeharika Madala will expire on July 31, 2017. Ms. Cathy DeMatto and Ms. Joyce Warner will have served two (2) full terms and are not eligible for reappointment. Student Miss Nikkie Dugan and Miss. Neeharika Madala will have served one (1) full term and are not eligible for reappointment. Student members can only serve one (1) term. Mr. Daryl Pauling will have served one (1) full term and would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Barbara Starks and Mr. Bryan Weber would have served unexpired terms, are eligible and would like to be nominated for reappointment. In addition, there is a vacancy due to the resignation of Mr. Drew Tucker. Nominations for appointment are needed for six (6) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2019. Please note that there are no student applicants at this time.

Members of the Education Board must be a resident of the City, own property, own or operate a business within the City or have a child attending Delray Beach public schools. It is the intent, whenever possible, that the membership include persons with a background in business, real estate and/or education.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be considered for appointment:

## (See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found with the exception of Ms. Kae Jonsons. Voter registration verification was completed and all are registered with the exception of Ms. Annette Gray.

Based on the rotation system the nominations for appointment will be made by Mayor Glickstein (Seat #5), Commissioner Petrolia (Seat #1), Vice Mayor Chard (Seat #2), Commissioner Katz (Seat #3), Deputy Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4) and Mayor Glickstein (Seat #5) for six (6) regular

#### File #: 17-531, Version: 1

members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2019.