

Legislation Text

File #: 17-533, Version: 1

TO:Mayor and CommissionersFROM:Katerri Johnson, City Clerk DepartmentTHROUGH:Chief Neal de Jesus, Interim City ManagerDATE:July 6, 2017

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE POLICE ADVISORY BOARD

Recommended Action:

Recommend nominations for appointment for five (5) regular members to serve on the Police Advisory Board for two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2019 and one (1) student member to serve a one (1) year term ending July 31, 2018.

Background:

The term for regular members Mr. Jack Chadam, Mr. Alexander Christopher, Ms. Nancy Chanin, Mr. John Jackson and Mr. Peter Sclafani will expire on July 31, 2017. Mr. Jack Chadam, and Mr. Alexander Christopher will have served one (1) full term, are eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Mr. John Jackson will have served one (1) full term and would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Nancy Chanin and Mr. Peter Sclafani will have served unexpired terms, are eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Nancy Chanin and Mr. Peter Sclafani will have served unexpired terms, are eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Please note that there are two (2) vacancies for a student member. However, there is only one student applicant at this time. Nominations for appointment are needed for five (5) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2019 and one (1) student member to serve a one (1) year term ending July 31, 2018.

In order to qualify for appointment, a person shall be either a resident of, own property, own a business, or be an officer, director, or manager of a business located within the City of Delray Beach. Membership shall include a diverse cross section of the community; business owners, religious and faith based organizations, youth, school officials and local organizations, where feasible.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, nominations for appointment will be made by Deputy Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4), Mayor Glickstein (Seat #5), Commissioner Petrolia (Seat #1), Vice Mayor Chard (Seat #2) and Commissioner Katz (Seat #3) for five (5) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2019. Deputy Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4) will nominate one (1) student member to serve one (1) year term ending July 31, 2018.