

City of Delray Beach



Legislation Text

File #: 17-604, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners

FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk Department THROUGH: Chief Neal de Jesus, Interim City Manager

DATE: July 18, 2017

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE PLANNING AND ZONING BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to Approve nominations for appointment for three (3) regular members to serve on the Planning and Zoning Board for two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2019.

Background:

The term for regular members, Mr. Neal Jones, Ms. Joycelyn Patrick and Mr. Robin Bird will expire on August 31, 2017. Ms. Joycelyn Patrick will have served one (1) full term and would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Mr. Robin Bird will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Mr. Neal Jones will have served an unexpired term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Nominations for appointment are needed for three (3) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2019

In order to qualify for appointment, a person shall be either a resident of, own property, own a business, or be an officer, director, or manager of a business located within the City of Delray Beach. In addition, the City Commission shall fill four seats on the Board with either an architect, landscape architect, realtor/real estate broker, engineer, developer, general contractor, land planner or land use attorney. The remaining three seats shall be at large. The Commission shall endeavor to appoint as many disciplines as possible to the board.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed and all are registered with the exception of Mr. Jack Levine and Mr. Chris Lowry.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment will be made by Deputy Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4), Mayor Glickstein (Seat #5) and Commissioner Petrolia (Seat #1) for three (3) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2019.

File #: 17-604, Version: 1