

City of Delray Beach

Legislation Text

File #: 18-510, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners

FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk Department

THROUGH: Mark R. Lauzier, City Manager

DATE: August 21, 2018

NOMINATION FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve nomination for appointment for one (1) regular member to serve on the Historic Preservation Board for a two (2) year term ending August 21, 2020.

Background:

The term for regular member, Mr. John Klein will expire on August 31, 2018. Mr. John Klein will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Nomination for appointment is needed for one (1) regular member to serve a two (2) year term ending August 31, 2020.

To qualify for appointment, a person shall either be a resident of, or own property in the City, and/or own a business within the City. In addition, the City Commission shall fill five (5) seats on the Board with either an architect, landscape architect, realtor/real estate broker, civil engineer, general contractor, architectural historian, preservationist, land planner or interior designer. Laypersons of knowledge, experience, and judgment that have an interest in historic preservation shall comprise the balance of the Board. Preference should be given to professional and lay persons who own property within historic districts or whose property is individually listed in the Local Register of Historic Places.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(Applications are in alphabetical order; however, the applicants are placed in their respective categories.)

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nomination for appointment will be made by Deputy Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4) for one (1) regular member to serve a two (2) year term ending August 31, 2020.