

100 N.W. 1st Avenue

Delray Beach, FL 33444

## City of Delray Beach



## **Legislation Text**

File #: 19-593, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners

FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk's Office THROUGH: Neal de Jesus, Interim City Manager

**DATE:** June 18, 2019

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE PUBLIC ART ADVISORY BOARD

## **Recommended Action:**

Motion to approve nominations for appointment for three (3) regular members to serve on the Public Art Advisory Board for two (2) years term ending July 31, 2021.

## Background:

The term for regular members Tonya Akins, Ms. Marusca Gatto and Ms. Joyce Warner will expire on July 31, 2019. Ms. Tonya Akins and Ms. Joyce Warner will have served one (1) full term, are eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Marusca Gatto will have served one (1) full term and would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Nominations for appointment are needed for three (3) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2021.

The Land Development Regulations Article 8.5 enacted the Public Art Advisory Board for the purpose of advising and making recommendations to the City Commission with respect to public art policy and related issues including, but not limited to, the selection, construction, and placement of public art in/on City right-of-way and City owned property.

The Public Art Advisory Board shall consist of seven (7) members. Three (3) seats on the Board must be filled with either an artist, architect, landscape architect or engineer. Laypersons of knowledge, experience and judgment who have an interest in public art shall make up the balance of the Board.

The following individuals have submitted an application and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered with the exception of Mr. Maren Graben.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment will be made by Vice Mayor Johnson (Seat #4), Mayor Petrolia (Seat# 5) and Commissioner Frankel (Seat #1) for three (3) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending July 31, 2021.