

Legislation Text

File #: 19-612, Version: 1

TO:Mayor and CommissionersFROM:Katerri Johnson, City Clerk DepartmentTHROUGH:Neal de Jesus, Interim City ManagerDATE:July 2, 2019

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve nominations for appointment for three (3) regular members to serve on the Historic Preservation Board for two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2021.

Background:

The term for regular members, Mr. Reeve Bright, Ms. Andrea Harden, and Ms. Andrea Sherman will expire on August 31, 2019. Mr. Bright Reeve will have served one (1) full terms, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Andrea Harden and Ms. Andrea Sherman will have served two (2) full term and are not eligible for reappointment. Nominations for appointment are needed for three (3) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2021.

To qualify for appointment, a person shall either be a resident of, or own property in the City, and/or own a business within the City. In addition, the City Commission shall fill five (5) seats on the Board with either an architect, landscape architect, realtor/real estate broker, civil engineer, general contractor, architectural historian, preservationist, land planner or interior designer. Laypersons of knowledge, experience, and judgment that have an interest in historic preservation shall compose the balance of the Board. Preference should be given to professional and lay persons who own property within historic districts or whose property is individually listed in the Local Register of Historic Places.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for appointment:

(Applications are in alphabetical order; however, the applicants are placed in their respective categories.)

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment will be made by Commissioner Frankel (Seat #1), Deputy Vice Mayor Bathurst (Seat #2) and Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3) for three (3) regular members to serve two (2) year terms ending August 31, 2021.