

## City of Delray Beach



## **Legislation Text**

File #: 20-420, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk

THROUGH: Jennifer Alvarez, Interim City Manager

DATE: July 7, 2020

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE EDUCATION BOARD

## **Recommended Action:**

Motion to approve nominations for appointment for five (5) regular members to serve on the Education Board for a two (2) year term ending July 30, 2022.

## **Background:**

The term for regular members, Mr. Eric Camacho, Ms. Cheryl Haywood, Ms. Sarah Hough, Ms. Alison Kaufman and Raiko Knight, will expire on July 30, 2020. Mr. Eric Camacho and Ms. Cheryl Haywood will have served one (1) full term and would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Sarah Hough and Ms. Alison Kaufman will have served one (1) full term and are eligible for reappointment; however, all correspondences were not returned. Ms. Raiko Knight will have served two (2) full terms and is not eligible for reappointment. Please note there are no student applicants at this time. Nominations for appointments are needed for five (5) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 30, 2022.

Members of the Education Board must be a resident of the City, own property, own or operate a business within the City or have a child attending Delray Beach public schools. It is the intent, whenever possible, that the membership includes persons with a background in business, real estate, and/or education.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be considered for an appointment:

(See Exhibit "A") attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens has conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered. Please note students are not registered to vote.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment will be made by Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5), Commissioner Frankel (Seat #1), Commissioner Casale (Seat #2), Vice-Mayor Boylston (Seat #3) and Deputy Vice-Mayor Johnson (Seat #4) for five (5) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 30, 2022.