

City of Delray Beach



Legislation Text

File #: 20-507, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk

THROUGH: Jennifer Alvarez, Interim City Manager

DATE: August 11, 2020

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION BOARD.

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve nominations for appointment for four (4) regular members to serve on the Historic Preservation Board for a two (2) year term ending August 30, 2022.

Background:

The term for regular members, Mr. Benjamin Baffer, Ms. Tracy Caruso, Mr. John Klein, and Ms. Paula Newman-Rocker, will expire on August 30, 2020. Mr. Benjamin Baffer will have served one (1) full term, is eligible and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Tracy Caruso will have served one (1) full term, is eligible and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Paula Newman-Rocker will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Mr. John Klein will have served two (2) full terms and is not eligible for reappointment. Nominations for appointment are needed for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending August 30, 2022.

To qualify for appointment, a person shall either be a resident of or own property in the City and/or own a business within the City. In addition, the City Commission shall fill five (5) seats on the Board with either an Architect, Landscape Architect, Realtor/Real Estate Broker, Civil Engineer, General Contractor, Architectural Historian, Preservationist, Land Planner or Interior Designer. Laypersons of knowledge, experience, and judgment that have an interest in historic preservation shall compose the balance of the Board. Preference should be given to professionals and laypersons who own property within historic districts or whose property is individually listed in the Local Register of Historic Places.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for an appointment:

(Applications are in alphabetical order; however, the applicants are placed in their respective categories)

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed and all are registered.

File #: 20-507, Version: 1

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for appointment for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending August 30, 2022, will be made by Deputy Vice-Mayor Johnson (Seat # 4), Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5), Commissioner Frankel (Seat #1) and Commissioner Casale (Seat #2).