

City of Delray Beach

Legislation Text

File #: 21-607, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk

THROUGH: Jennifer Alvarez, Interim City Manager

DATE: July 6, 2021

NOMINATION FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE EDUCATION BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve the nomination for an appointment for six (6) regular members to serve on the Education Board for a two (2) year tem ending July 31, 2023.

Background:

The terms for regular members Mr. David O'Connor, Ms. Caryn Siperstein-Klein, Ms. Angelica Bruno-Nevin, Ms. Penny Butler-Shillinger, Ms.Barbara Starks, and Ms. Cathy Reynolds will end July 31, 2021. Mr. David O'Connor will have served one (1) unexpired term and one (1) full term, is eligible for reappointment; however, he will not be in the City Limits. Ms. Caryn Siperstein-Klein will have served one (1) full term, is eligible and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Angelica B. Nevin will have served one (1) full term, is eligible and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Penny Butler-Shillinger will have served one (1) unexpired term and one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Barbara Starks will have served one (1) unexpired term and two (2) full terms and is not eligible for reappointment. Ms. Cathy Reynolds will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Therefore, nomination for an appointment is needed for six (6) regular members.

Members of the Education Board must be a resident of the City, own property, own or operate a business within the City or have a child attending Delray Beach public schools. It is the intent, whenever possible, that the membership includes persons with a background in business, real estate, and/or education.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be considered for an appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nomination for an appointment for six (6) regular members to serve a term ending July 31, 2023, will be made by Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3), Vice-Mayor Johnson (Seat #4), Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5), Deputy Vice Mayor Frankel (Seat #1), Commissioner Casale (Seat #2), and Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3).

File #: 21-607, Version: 1