



City of Delray Beach

100 N.W. 1st Avenue Delray Beach, FL 33444

Legislation Text

File #: 21-983, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk THROUGH: Terrence R. Moore, ICMA-CM

DATE: September 13, 2021

NOMINATION FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE AFFORDABLE HOUSING ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve the nomination for an appointment for four (4) regular members to serve on the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee for a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2023.

Background:

Nominations for appointment are needed for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2023.

On April 1, 2008, the Delray Beach City Commission adopted Resolution No. 12-08, establishing the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee for the purpose of recommending monetary and/or non-monetary incentives for affordable housing to the City Commission. The City of Delray Beach desires to continue receiving SHIP funds and desires to comply with the requirements of House Bill 1375. On January 17, 2012, Resolution No. 05-12 was adopted to amend Resolution 12-08 to allow for fewer than eleven (11) members if they are unable to find representatives who meet the following criteria of Paragraphs (a) - (k).

- (a) One citizen who is actively engaged in the residential home building industry in connection with affordable housing.
- (c) One citizen who is a representative of those areas of labor actively engaged in home building in connection with affordable housing.
- (e) One citizen who is actively engaged as a for-profit provider of affordable housing.
- (f) One citizen who is actively engaged as a not-for-profit provider of affordable housing.

The following individuals have submitted applications with a desire to be nominated for an appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and /or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration was complete, and all are registered.

File #: 21-983, Version: 1

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for an appointment for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2023, will be made by Commissioner Casale (Seat #2), Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3), Vice-Mayor Johnson (Seat #4) and Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5).