

# City of Delray Beach



## **Legislation Text**

File #: 22-212, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk THROUGH: Terrence R. Moore, ICMA-CM

**DATE:** June 14, 2022

NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE AFFORDABLE HOUSING ADVISORY COMMITTEE

#### **Recommended Action:**

Motion to approve the appointment for six (6) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024.

### **Background:**

The terms for regular members Ms. Joanne McGinnis, Ms. Debra Walker, Ms. Edmee Morin, Ms. Angela Burns, Ms. Jennifer Jones, and Ms. Serena Spates will expire on July 31, 2022. Ms. Joanne McGinnis will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, but would not like to be reappointed. Ms. Debra Walker will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Edmee Morin will have served one (1) full term, is eligible and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Angela Burns will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Jennifer Jones will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be considered for reappointment. Ms. Serena Spates will have served one full term, is eligible, and would like to be reappointed. Nominations for an appointment are needed for six (6) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024.

On April 1, 2008, the Delray Beach City Commission adopted Resolution No. 12-08, establishing the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee for the purpose of recommending incentives for affordable housing to the City Commission.

On January 17, 2012, Resolution No. 05-12 was adopted to allow the appointment of citizens to engage in the activity without regard to affordable housing if the City, whether due to its small size, the presence of a conflict of interest by prospective appointees, or other reasonable factors, is unable to appoint a citizen actively engaged in these activities in connection with affordable housing.

The Affordable Housing Advisory Committee shall consist of eleven (11) members that meet the following criteria. Six (6) seats are needed to be filled, and the criteria for those seats are listed below:

- (b). One citizen who is actively engaged in the banking or mortgage banking industry in connection with affordable housing.
- (d). One citizen who is actively engaged as an advocate for low-income persons in connection with affordable housing.

#### File #: 22-212, Version: 1

- (g). One citizen who is actively engaged as a real estate professional in connection with affordable housing.
- (i). One citizen who resides within the jurisdiction of the local governing body making the appointments.
- (j). One citizen who represents employers within the jurisdiction.
- (k). One citizen who represents essential services personnel, as defined in the local housing assistance plan.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for an appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for the appointment of six (6) regular members to serve a term ending July 31, 2024, will be made by Vice-Mayor Frankel (Seat #1), Deputy Vice-Mayor Casale (Seat #2), Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3), Commissioner Johnson (Seat #4), Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5), and Vice-Mayor Frankel (Seat #1).