

City of Delray Beach

Legislation Text

File #: 22-627, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk THROUGH: Terrence R. Moore, ICMA-CM

DATE: June 14, 2022

NOMINATION FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE POLICE ADVISORY BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve the nomination for an appointment for five (5) regular members to serve on the Police Advisory Board for a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024.

Background:

Due to Mr. Gary Rex resigning his seat, there is an open seat. The terms for Mr. Paul Cannon, Ms. LaToya Ratlieff, Mr. Kevin McNally, and Mr. Willie Potts will expire on July 31, 2022. Mr. Paul Cannon will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. LaToya Ratlieff will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, but would not want to be reappointed. Mr. Kevin McNally will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be reappointed. Mr. Willie Potts will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be reappointed. Nomination for an appointment is needed for five (5) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024.

In order to qualify for an appointment, a person shall be either a resident of, own property, own a business, or be an officer, director, or manager of a business located within the City of Delray Beach. Where feasible, memberships shall include a diverse cross-section of the community; business owners, religious and faith-based organizations, youth, school officials, and local organizations.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for an appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, nomination for an appointment for five (5) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024, will be made by Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3), Commissioner Johnson (Seat #4), Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5), Vice-Mayor Frankel (Seat #1) and Deputy Vice-Mayor Casale (Seat #2).