

Legislation Text

File #: 22-628, Version: 1

TO:Mayor and CommissionersFROM:Katerri Johnson, City ClerkTHROUGH:Terrence R. Moore, ICMA-CMDATE:June 14, 2022

NOMINATION FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE PUBLIC ART ADVISORY BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve the appointment for four (4) regular members to serve on the Public Art Advisory Board to serve a term ending July 31, 2024.

Background:

The terms for regular members Mr. Damian Fitzsimmons, Ms. Lark Keeler, Ms. Jill Hotchkiss, and Mr. Joseph Aronstein will expire on July 31, 2022. Mr. Damian Fitzsimmons and Ms. Lark Keeler will have served two (2) regular terms and are not eligible for reappointment. Mr. Joseph Aronstein will have served one (1) regular term and is eligible and would like to be nominated for reappointment. Ms. Jill Hotchkiss will have served one (1) unexpired term, is eligible but would not like to be considered for reappointment. Nomination for appointment are needed for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024.

The Land Development Regulations Article 8.5 enacted the Public art Advisory Board to advise and make recommendations to the City Commission with respect to public art policy and related issues including, but not limited to, the selection, construction, and placement of public art in/on City right-of-way and City-owned property.

The Public Art Advisory Board shall consist of seven (7) members. Three (3) seats must be filled with either an artist, architect, landscape architect, or engineer. Laypersons of knowledge, experience, and judgment who are interested in public art shall make up the balance of the Board.

The following individuals have submitted an application and would like to be nominated for an appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nomination for an appointment for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending July 31, 2024, will be made by Vice-Mayor Frankel (Seat #1), Deputy Vice-Mayor Casale (Seat #2), Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3) and Commissioner Johnson (Seat #4).