

City of Delray Beach



Legislation Text

File #: 22-976, Version: 1

TO: Mayor and Commissioners FROM: Katerri Johnson, City Clerk THROUGH: Terrence R. Moore, ICMA-CM

DATE: August 9, 2022

NOMINATION FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE PLANNING AND ZONING BOARD

Recommended Action:

Motion to approve the nomination of four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending August 31, 2024.

Background:

The terms for regular members Mr. Max Weinberg, Mr. Allen Zeller, Mr. Robert Long, and Mr. Christopher Davey will expire on August 31, 2022. Mr. Max Weinberg will have served one (1) full term and is eligible but would not like to be reappointed. Mr. Allen Zeller will have served one (1) full term, is eligible and would like to be reappointed. Mr. Robert Long has served two (2) full terms but is not eligible for reappointment. Mr. Christopher Davey will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, and would like to be reappointed. Nomination for an appointment is needed for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending August 31, 2024.

In order to qualify for appointment, a person shall be either a resident of, own property, own a business, or be an officer, director, or manager of a business located within the City of Delray Beach. In addition, the City Commission shall fill four seats on the board with either an architect, landscape architect, realtor/real estate broker, engineer, developer, general contractor, land planner, or land use attorney. The remaining three seats shall be at large. The Commission shall endeavor to appoint as many disciplines as possible to the board.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for an appointment:

(See Exhibit "A" attached)

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered except for Mr. Steven Cohen and Mr. Jeremy Charles.

Based on the rotation system, the nominations for an appointment for four (4) regular members to serve a two (2) year term ending August 31, 2024, will be made by Deputy Vice-Mayor Casale (Seat #2), Commissioner Boylston (Seat #3), Commissioner Johnson (Seat #4) and Mayor Petrolia (Seat #5).