

Legislation Text

File #: 23-510, Version: 1

# TO:Mayor and CommissionersFROM:Katerri Johnson, City ClerkTHROUGH:Terrence R. Moore, ICMA-CMDATE:June 6, 2023

# NOMINATION FOR AN APPOINTMENT TO THE DOWNTOWN DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

# Recommended Action:

Motion to approve the nomination for an appointment for four (4) regular members to serve on the Downtown Development Authority Board for a three (3) year term ending July 1, 2026.

## Background:

Nomination for an appointment is needed for four (4) regular members to serve a three (3) year term ending July 1, 2026. The terms for regular members Ms. Mavis Benson, Dr. John Conde, Mr. Frank Frione, and Mr. Rocco Mangel will expire on July 1, 2023. Ms. Mavis Benson will have served two (2) full terms and is not eligible for reappointment. Dr. John Conde will have served two (2) full terms and is not eligible for reappointment. Mr. Frank Frione will have served one (1) unexpired term, is eligible, but would not like to be nominated for reappointment. Mr. Rocco Mangel will have served one (1) full term, is eligible, but would not like to be nominated for reappointment.

To qualify for appointment, a prospective member must reside in or have his or her principal place of business in the City and shall not be serving as a City officer or employee. There is a requirement that at least four (4) members must be owners of real estate within the downtown area, a lessee thereof required by the lease to pay taxes thereon, or a director, officer, or managing agent of an owner or of a lessee thereof so required to pay taxes thereon. A map of the Downtown Development Authority Boundary is included for your review.

Currently serving on the Downtown Development Authority Board and meeting ownership and tax payment qualifications are Ms. Mavis Benson, Dr. John Conde, and Ms. Christina Godbout.

The following individuals have submitted applications and would like to be nominated for an appointment:

A check for code violations and/or municipal liens was conducted. None were found. Voter registration verification was completed, and all are registered.

Based on the rotation system, the nomination for four (4) regular members to serve on the Downtown Development Authority Board for a three (3) year term ending July 1, 2026, will be made by Commissioner Frankel (Seat #1), Deputy Vice-Mayor Long (Seat #2), Vice-Mayor Boylston (Seat #3)

### File #: 23-510, Version: 1

and Commissioner Burns (Seat #4).